PRAYER: A Novena to the Guardian Angels (long)

novena for guardian angels

(Author unknown)

Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom his love commits me here, ever this day (or night), be at my side, to light and guard, to rule and guide.

O holy angel, whom God, by the effect of his goodness and his tender regard for my welfare, has charged with the care of my conduct, and who assists me in all my wants and comforts me in all my afflictions, who supports me when I am discouraged and continually obtains for me new favors, I return you profound thanks, and I earnestly beseech you, O most amiable protector, to continue your charitable care and defense of me against the malignant attacks of all my enemies.

Keep me away from all occasions of sin.  Obtain for me the grace of listening attentively to your holy inspirations and of faithfully putting them into practice.  In particular, I implore you to obtain for me the favor which I ask for by this novena, (STATE REQUEST).   Protect me in all the temptations and trials of this life, but more especially at the hour of my death, and do not leave me until you have conducted me into the presence of my creator in the mansions of everlasting happiness.

Almighty, Eternal God, in your ineffable goodness you have assigned a special angel to all men, from womb onwards, as a protection for body and soul.  Graciously grant that I may follow my holy angel so faithfully and love him so dearly that, through your grace and under his protection, I may one day reach the Heavenly Father’s house and may merit to behold your divine countenance, together with him and all the holy angels.

Heavenly Father, your infinite love for us has chosen a blessed angel in Heaven and appointed him our guide during this Earthly pilgrimage.  Accept our thanks for so great a blessing.

Grant that I may experience the assistance of my holy protector in all my necessities.  And you, holy, loving angel and guide, watch over me with all the tenderness of your angelic heart.  Keep me always on the way that leads to Heaven, and cease not to pray for me until I have attained my final destiny, eternal salvation.

Then I will love you for all eternity.  I will praise and glorify you unceasingly for all the good you have done for us while here on Earth.  Especially be a faithful and watchful protector of our children.  Take my place, and supply what may be wanting to me through human frailty, shortsightedness, or sinful neglect.

Lighten, O you perfect servant of God, my heavy task.  Guide our children that they may become like unto Jesus, may imitate him faithfully, and may persevere until they attain eternal life.

Amen.

 

Leave a comment